Login


WOMEN TALKING POLITICS

2017 Co-Editors

Priya Kurian (University of Waikato):
priya.kurian@waikato.ac.nz

Gauri Nandedkar (University of Waikato):
ln35@students.waikato.ac.nz

2016 Co-Editors

Priya Kurian (University of Waikato):
pkurian@waikato.ac.nz

Greta Snyder (Victoria University of Wellington): greta.snyder@vuw.ac.nz

2015 Lead Editor

Lena Tan (University of Otago): lena.tan@otago.ac.nz

2015 Associate Editor

Anthony Deos: anthony.deos@gmail.com

2015 Editorial Board

Jennifer Curtin (Auckland): j.curtin@auckland.ac.nz

Beth Greener (Massey): b.greener@massey.ac.nz 

Janine Hayward (Otago): janine.hayward@otago.ac.nz

Bronwyn Hayward (Canterbury): bronwyn.hayward@canterbury.ac.nz

Priya Kurian (Waikato): pkurian@waikato.ac.nz

Greta Synder (Victoria): greta.snyder@vuw.ac.nz

About

Women Talking Politics is a network promoting communication among women and trans women working on political issues, their research and events across Aotearoa New Zealand and beyond. It is designed to promote communication among women and trans women working in national and international politics, Māori and indigenous politics, political theory, public policy, political communication and other related disciplines. It includes women and trans women teaching, researching or actively engaged in women’s issues and politics more broadly. As such it showcases short pieces about research, news and events around a range of these topics.

Women Talking Politics has been an important source of articles, news and discussion about political thought and action written by women since 1987. Temporarily suspended in 2009, after the Christchurch earthquakes, it was brought back at the 2014 NZPSA Conference in December as a new annual Research Magazine.


Call for papers

2017 Issue of Women Talking Politics

Priya Kurian & Gauri Nandedkar (eds)

The aim of Women Talking Politics – a mini-journal produced by the New Zealand Political Studies Association – is to promote the work of women political scientists in New Zealand.

We are seeking submissions by New Zealand-based women political scientists (both academic staff and postgraduate students) for the following sections:

1. Research Briefs of 200-300 words. These briefs should present research currently in progress. They are intended to highlight the breadth of work being undertaken by female political scientists in New Zealand.

2. Articles of 800-1,000 words. Following the typical article format, these short essays are intended to allow the readership a deeper look into completed or nearly-completed research projects. Articles will go through a blind peer-review process.

3. Book reviews: We invite undergraduate and postgraduate women students enrolled in political science papers in 2017 to submit reviews of books written by women and/or with a feminist angle. Reviews of recent books published in the last 3 years are encouraged.

4. Creative writing: We particularly encourage female undergraduate students enrolled in undergraduate political science papers in 2017 to submit creative writing pieces on politics, social justice movements, environmental activism and other topics with a feminist angle. The word limit for these pieces is flexible, but ideally it should not exceed 800 words.

​Please​ ensure that all submissions adhere to APA referencing style.

Submissions will be accepted on a rolling basis through 1 September 2017, and should be emailed to Gauri Nandedkar at ln35@students.waikato.ac.nz


    Back Issues

    November 2016

    December 2015

    December 2014

    Summer 2009

    Summer 2006

    Winter 2006

    Spring 2005

    Winter 2005

    Summer 2004

    Spring 2004

    Summer 2003

    Winter 2002

    Spring 2001

    Spring 2000

    Summer 2000

    Winter 1999

    April 1997

    July 1997

    December 1996

    July 1996

    April 1996

    July 1995

    February 1995

    May - June 1994

    July - August 1993 part 1

    July - August 1993 part 2

    August - September 1992

    November - December 1992 part 1

    November - December 1992 part 2

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software